Available Now!


Hardscrabble Road

 by George Weinstein

The entire MacLeod clan is haunted by secrets—and young Roger “Bud” MacLeod doesn’t realize he carries the biggest secret of all. Growing up poor in Depression-era South Georgia is hard enough, but Bud is also cursed with a stutter and a birthmark that disfigures his face. His hateful father and amoral mother make life worse still, despite his brothers’ efforts to shield him.

To survive in body and soul, Bud must discover his strengths and confront the sins of his parents. First, though, he’ll need to grasp his own truth: that he can’t embrace his future until he comes to terms with his past.

Reading Hardscrabble Road is like discovering To Kill a Mockingbird when no one else knew about it…one day it may also be considered a classic.

Jackie K. Cooper

Author of MEMORY'S MIST, and critic for Huffington Post

Wow! What a great read. Pitch-perfect characters and evocative details make Hardscrabble Road a ride you won’t want to end. I was on board from the first gritty page.

Lynn Cullen

Author of TWAIN'S END

Bud fights to save his own soul with determination and heart. Hardscrabble Road is a bittersweet and gripping story that will steal your heart.

Patti Callahan Henry

New York Times bestselling author

In the tradition of Erskine Caldwell and Harry Crews, Weinstein has written a novel filled with rage, violence…and—deep-down—tenderness and wonder.

– George Singleton


About the Author

George Weinstein is an author of numerous novels and Officer Emeritus of the Atlanta Writers Club (AWC). His work has been published locally in the Atlanta press and in regional and national anthologies, including A Cup of Comfort for Writers. Since 2009, he has managed the Atlanta Writers Conference, a twice-yearly opportunity for writers to meet with agents and editors, advance their writing ambitions, and occasionally make their dreams come true. You can contact George with book club invitations and speaking requests and read more about him and his written work at www.GeorgeWeinstein.com.


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a free chapter!


Purchase on Amazon


What people are saying on Goodreads

Subscribe to our mailing list: