Available Now!

Hardscrabble-Road_George-Weinstein

Hardscrabble Road

 by George Weinstein

The entire MacLeod clan is haunted by secrets—and young Roger “Bud” MacLeod doesn’t realize he carries the biggest secret of all. Growing up poor in Depression-era South Georgia is hard enough, but Bud is also cursed with a stutter and a birthmark that disfigures his face. His hateful father and amoral mother make life worse still, despite his brothers’ efforts to shield him.

To survive in body and soul, Bud must discover his strengths and confront the sins of his parents. First, though, he’ll need to grasp his own truth: that he can’t embrace his future until he comes to terms with his past.

Reading Hardscrabble Road is like discovering To Kill a Mockingbird when no one else knew about it…one day it may also be considered a classic.

Jackie K. Cooper,

author of MEMORY'S MIST, and critic for Huffington Post

Wow! What a great read. Pitch-perfect characters and evocative details make Hardscrabble Road a ride you won’t want to end. I was on board from the first gritty page.

Lynn Cullen,

author of TWAIN'S END

Bud fights to save his own soul with determination and heart. Hardscrabble Road is a bittersweet and gripping story that will steal your heart.

Patti Callahan Henry,

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author

In the tradition of Erskine Caldwell and Harry Crews, Weinstein has written a novel filled with rage, violence…and—deep-down—tenderness and wonder.

– George Singleton,

author of CALLOUSTOWN

Buy Hardscrabble Road

Purchase online

Reader Reviews

What people are saying on Goodreads

Sell Sheet

For media

George WeinsteinAbout the Author

George Weinstein is the author of the Southern historical novel
Hardscrabble Road; the Southern mystery Aftermath; and the novel of
forgotten U.S. history The Five Destinies of Carlos Moreno—all published
by SFK Press—and the upcoming suspense novel The Color of Lies. His
work also has been published in the Atlanta press and in regional and
national anthologies, including A Cup of Comfort for Writers. George is the
former President of the Atlanta Writers Club and has managed the Atlanta
Writers Conference for a decade, helping nearly three thousand writers on
their quest for publication. On his website, www.GeorgeWeinstein.com, you can read the first chapters of his books for free and discover more about him
and his work.

* Also by George Weinstein:

Our Southern Fried Guarantee:

If you wouldn’t recommend one of our books with a four- or five-star rating to a friend, then the next story is on us. We believe that much in the stories we’re telling. Simply email us at pr@sfkmultimedia.com.

Share this book with your friends!
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on Google+
Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin
Email this to someone
email

Subscribe to our free weekly zine! Fresh disruptive content delivered right to your inbox.

escort balikesir izmir escortlar isparta escortlar escortlar bursa